Home Blog What are the Main Phases of SDLC?

What are the Main Phases of SDLC?


The SDLC (Software Development Life Cycle) is considered to be a framework that has all the steps defined in it for the development of software at each phase. With the help of the steps mentioned in this life cycle, it can become easy for the team to work at a constant pace.

Its Purpose and Importance:

The main purpose of this life cycle is to make sure that the team has delivered a high-quality product. And is also exactly according to the customer’s requirement. It has different phases and without any of these phases, the completion of a product is impossible.

PMP Certification Dumpss

Phases of SDLC:

The SDLC has defined its phases to be 6 in counting. The names and precise details of each of the phases are mentioned below

Requirements of Analysis:

In this phase, all the relevant information is gathered carefully from the customer as to what he wants. The purpose of this activity is to make sure that the product is developed as per the customer’s expectation. Who will be the end-user, the purpose of the product, and other things are involved in this phase. And if there are any ambiguities then they must be solved in this phase only.

System design:

This is the second phase of the life cycle where all the information gathered in the first phase is used as an input. And the software architecture that is used for implementing system development is derived as well.


This is the phase where the actual work begins. Once the developer gets the design document, the process of implementation or coding starts. It is this phase, where the software design is translated into the source code, and then further work starts. All of the components of the software are coded in this phase. Therefore, you need to be careful with the coding as if there is an error in this phase, you need to do it again.

PMP Prep Courses


Once the coding of all the components of the software is completed, the next phase starts which is the testing phase. Testing starts once the code is completed and the modules are released for testing. Whatever the software has been developed is tested thoroughly in this phase. And if any defects are found then they are assigned back to the developers to get them fixed.

Steps like retesting, regression testing is done until there comes a point where the software is according to the customer’s expectation. Then the testers refer the SRS document to make sure that the software that they have created is as per the customer’s standard.


As soon as the product has been tested and it is made sure that it is free of errors, it is deployed in the production environment or the User Acceptance Testing (UAT) is done depending on the customer expectation.

If UAT is done then what happens here is that a replica of the production environment is created and the customer along with developers will do the testing. If the customer is satisfied with the product then the sign off to go live is provided by the customer.


This is the last phase where after the development of a product on the production environment, the maintenance of the product comes. It is so that if any issues might come up and needs to be taken care of, it can be done by the developers. With that, if there has to be made any enhancements in the product then it can also be done by the developer.


As you can see that all the phases in this life cycle are quite organized and have a detailed set of instructions. With the help of the steps followed in this life cycle, it is highly likely that the product delivered is according to the customer’s demand. So read this topic carefully and know what SDLC is and never stop learning.